Sierra Club NationalWest Virginia Sierra Club
Explore, enjoy and protect the planet
> Chapter Home
> Newsletter Home
> Archives
> Editorial contact

Sierra Club Endorsements for Fall 2008
click for print view

by Regina Hendrix | 2008

2008 Election Endorsements!

The Sierra Club participates in the political process, because that’s where the critical environmental decisions are made for the state and the nation. The national Sierra Club makes presidential and vice-presidential endorsements. The West Virginia Chapter makes endorsements for state offices.

To receive the endorsement of the West Virginia Sierra Club requires us to examine candidates in several ways. For incumbents, we analyze their voting records. For all candidates, we analyze their responses to a detailed questionnaire. Often we also have feedback from members who knowthe candidates. Our endorsements are for candidates who support our positions onWest Virginia environmental issues.

Endorsed Candidates (Party: D =Democrat, M = Mountain, R = Republican)

United States

President: Barack Obama (D)
Vice-President: Joe Biden (D)

West Virginia

Governor: Jesse L. Johnson (M)

Attorney General: Darrell McGraw (D)

WV Supreme Court: Margaret Workman (D)

WV Senate District Candidate:

11th William Laird (D)

17th Dan Foster (D)

WV House District Candidate:

10th Brenda Brum (D)

17th Don Perdue (D)

17th Richard Thompson (D)

18th Larry Barker (D)

22nd Daniel Hall (D)

25th Marshall Long (D)

28th Joan Browning (D)

29th Margaret Staggers (D)

29th Daniel Wright (R)

30th Bobbie Hatfield (D)

30th Danny Wells (D)

30th Bonnie Brown (D)

30th Nancy Guthrie (D)

31st CarrieWebster (D)

35th SamArgento (D)

41st Richard J. Iaquinto (D)

41st Ron Fragale (D)

42nd Mike Manypenny (D)

43rd Linda Longstreth (D)

43rd Mike Caputo (D)

43rd Tim Manchin (D)

44th Barbara Fleischauer (D)

44th Charlene Marshall (D)

44th Cindy Frich (R)

51st Robin Mills (M)

52nd Mike Roberts (D)

57th John Doyle (D)

Other Articles

  • 2008
    Table of Contents


© copyright Sierra Club 1892-2010